Local Governing Body


Dr Mark McCarthy

Chair of Governors

Mark is a research scientist at the Met Office with a background in Physics and Maths and an interest in outreach and education of STEM subjects. He has children at Teignmouth Community School in both the primary and secondary schools and joined the Governance board in May 2019 to contribute to and support the school in achieving its strategic aims.


Karine Davies

Vice Chair of Governors

Karine is an International Trade Adviser with the Department of International Trade and is a French national with an interest in Modern Foreign Languages and a Certificate in Education.  She has a child at Teignmouth Community School (Exeter Road).

Karine joined the Governance board in May 2019 to contribute to and support the school in achieving its strategic aims.  Karine is Chair of the Educational Outcome and Curriculum Committee.


Sarah Sabourin

Governor Responsible for Safeguarding

Sarah was appointed as a Governor in June 2019, following the expansion of the Trust.  She works for Devon County Council as a Foster Carer and is an active committee member for the Devon Foster Carers Association.   She also works as a magistrate in the South West.

In her spare time she enjoys spending time outdoors with her family, reading and craft.

Sarah is the Governor Responsible for Safeguarding and Chair of the Safeguarding/Behaviour/CiC/Wellbeing Committee.


Luke Williams

Governor, Staff Mill Lane

Luke was appointed as a Staff Governor representing TCS Mill Lane in June 2019.  He is the Deputy Head of School at Mill Lane responsible for SEND, behaviour, data and STEM. He has been with Mill Lane for several years and prior to this, he taught at our secondary school, Exeter Road.

Luke likes to stay active and has a passion for many sports which is what much of his free time is spent doing. Luke also enjoys reading, both around pedagogy to improve practice in schools and for pleasure.


Sarah Minty-Dyke

Governor, Staff Exeter Road

Sarah is the Safeguarding and Child Protection Officer and the Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) at TCS Exeter Road.  Having been a Director of the Trust since 2013, Sarah became a Governor of Teignmouth Community School following the Trust expansion in the summer of 2019.

She was a Parent Governor of Shaldon Primary School for six years and has four children, all of whom studied at TCS, Exeter Road.


Katy Quinn

Principal, Mill Lane

Katy is the Principal of Teignmouth Community School, Mill Lane.  Prior to her appointment as a Director in October 2016, Katy also served as Company Secretary to the Trust and was part of the team who effected the academisation of the then Teignmouth Community College and Inverteign Primary School in March 2011.

Katy is a longstanding member of the school leadership, having previously held the position of Assistant Principal at Exeter Road.


James O’Connell

Principal, Exeter Road

James has a degree in Philosophy and Religion from Leeds University and served as an infantry officer for seven years before going into teaching. He has worked in schools in London, Plymouth, Tavistock, Liskeard and now Teignmouth.

Married with two children, he lives in Plymouth where he enjoys literature, music, the arts, running, cycling, trying to surf and living life to the full.


Polly Cox

Co-opted Governor

Polly was appointed as a co-opted governor of TCS in December 2020. She is an Audit Associate at Bishop Fleming Chartered Accountants with experience in academy accounts. She is an ex-student of Teignmouth Community School and has a degree in Business and Management from the University of Exeter.


Gaby Willis


Gaby has been the TCS Clerk since October 2012 and was also a member of the admin team at TCS Exeter Road until September 2020 when she was appointed Trust Governance Officer for Osprey Learning Trust.